Banana Bread & No Knead Pizza Dough

Saturday, April 8, 2017

Banana Bread from Illustrated Step by Step Baking

Edgar bought bananas and didn’t finish them before he left.  Since Hayden and I don’t like bananas, I decided to make banana bread, which we do like.  It tasted yummy but like the cupcakes, the banana bread didn’t rise.

Before making the banana bread, I threw out the old baking powder since I thought my cakes and cupcakes weren’t rising because the baking powder had expired.  But it wasn’t that.  I had a “D’oh” moment later when realized the expiration date for the baking powder was September 2017, not 2016.  Oh well.

So now I’m wondering if it’s because the temperature of the oven is off and isn’t heating up high enough.  After putting the cupcakes in the oven, I turned off the oven so I could reset it to 350.  The temperature had dropped, and the oven returned to 350 in a minute.  Could it be that?  Next time I won’t play with the oven temperature.

No Knead Pizza Bread

I was going to make dinner for Ann and the boys so I made a 15-bean soup, no-knead pizza bread, and boiled eggs.  I still made everything even though Ann finally admitted that they weren’t going to eat dinner.

I put the oven temperature too high at 475 instead of 425.  Oops.  Also the bread tasted salty.  Maybe it’s because the dough is supposed to be for pizza, so the salty taste would be negated by the pizza sauce and cheese.  I think I put in the right amount of salt.  But next time, I’ll be more careful.  Also next time, I need to mix the dough more.  There were parts that didn’t get incorporated into the dough.

Also I didn’t read the instructions correctly, and I stretched the dough out into the baking dish after it rose.  I was supposed to pour it into the pan and let it rest for 15 minutes and then stretch it out in the pan.

Next time, I need to read the instructions more carefully, and maybe not do too many things at once.

Next time, next time, next time.

One thought on “Banana Bread & No Knead Pizza Dough

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑